Force has responsibility in over 50 Federal Government Acts, including the Indian Act. It also assists many departments of the Federal Government in administrative duties and is responsible for the protection of government buildings and property. It is the sole police force operating in the Northwest and Yukon Territories. Furthermore, it undertakes secret and security services for the Federal Government. In addition to its federal duties, agreements have been made with the Provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and British Columbia whereby the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police can be secured to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code in rural districts upon payment for such services. The agreement with Saskatchewan has been in existence for 26 years and those with the Provinces of Alberta. Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island for 22 years. The agreements were entered into with the Provinces of Newfoundland and British Columbia in August 1950, and the police forces of those Provinces were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The Force has agreements also for policing more than 123 urban centres within the provinces mentioned.

Other Services.—The services of RCMP experts in fingerprints, crime-index information, examination of firearms and questioned documents are available to all other police forces in Canada. A *Police Gazette*, issued monthly and containing instructional articles on police work as well as the latest information on wanted or missing persons, is sent to all police forces across the country. The RCMP has two Police Colleges that are open to selected personnel from other police forces in Canada and to a more limited number of those outside its boundaries.

In recent years the Force has given special attention to crime prevention, as well as detection, and has done much to assist young people in those provinces where the Force acts as the provincial police in developing a healthy outlook towards the police, law, order and responsible citizenship.

A book entitled *Law and Order in Canadian Democracy*, containing twenty essays, has been issued by the Force and is available through the Queen's Printer, Ottawa.

Subsection 2.—Provincial Police Forces*

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—The Quebec Provincial Police Force is responsible for upholding law and order over the whole territory of the Province, from the provincial boundary between Ontario and Quebec to the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Force, composed of about 800 men, is in charge of a Director, who acts under direct orders from and is responsible to the Attorney-General of the Province.

To facilitate operations, the territory is divided into two almost equal parts designated as the District of Montreal and the District of Quebec. The Director has his office at Montreal and an Assistant Director at the city of Quebec. Working under these Directors are two Deputies and an Inspector General. In each District the Police Force is divided into three sections: the detective corps, the constabulary and the traffic officers; each section is in charge of a captain supported by a number of lieutenants and sergeants.

^{*} Revised by Geo. A. Shea, O.B.E., Secretary-Treasurer, Chief Constables' Association of Canada, Montreal, Que.